Home » Funding & Awards » RCP Excellence in Patient Care Awards

RCP Excellence in Patient Care Awards

Excellence in Patient Care Awards 2021 have now closed! Have a look at the 2021 winners. 

The RCP's Excellence in Patient Care Awards (EPCA) aim to recognise, celebrate and promote the work that physicians do to improve patient care through education, policy, clinical practice and research.

Now, more than ever, it’s important that we acknowledge the hard work and dedication of our members and fellows.

Award categories

Our categories are:

  • Digital award
  • Innovation award
  • International award
  • Medical education and training award
  • Person-centred care award
  • Quality improvement award
  • Research award
  • Welfare and wellbeing award
  • Contribution to the profession award (nomination only)

This year we’ve introduced a new category: Excellence in times of crisis

Recognises and rewards dedication to healthcare during time of exceptional crisis or emergency incident. We particularly welcome applications related to COVID-19.


EPCA 2021 winners receive:

  • £1,000
  • a commemorative plaque
  • promotion of their winning project by the RCP.

EPCA 2021

Due to COVID-19 restrictions we were unable to hold a dedicated awards ceremony this year. Instead, we announced the winners during a virtual ceremony on 26 May 2021.

The booklet of winners and finalists created for EPCA 2021 can be downloaded below.