Home » Funding & Awards » Research funding and awards at the RCP

Research funding and awards at the RCP

The RCP funds fellowships, research grants, awards, lectureships and bursaries to help support, promote and celebrate research activity. 

Further information, including how to apply, can be found on the RCP’s funding and awards pages. If you would like to know more about any of the prizes or notified when the application window opens, please contact fundingandawards@rcp.ac.uk.

Excellence in Patient Care Awards  

The RCP's Excellence in Patient Care Awards (EPCA) aim to recognise, celebrate and promote the work that physicians do to improve patient care through education, policy, clinical practice and research. The EPCA research award rewards original research that has contributed to, or has the potential to contribute to, significant improvements in health outcomes or the quality of patient care. We welcome entries on unpublished works:

Graham Bull Prize/Goulstonian Lecture

An annual prize of £1,000 for an individual under the age of 45 years who has made a major contribution to clinical science. The winner of this prize will also be invited to deliver the Goulstonian Lecture.

James Maxwell Grant Prophit Fellowship

The James Maxwell Grant Prophit Fellowship was originally established to promote and further research on tuberculosis. This fund is now applied to research work into the nature, causes, prevention, treatment and cure of diseases of the chest, heart, and circulation.

The award offers up to £30,000 per project, to be paid over a maximum of two years, and is available to qualified collegiate members or fellows of the RCP.

John Glyn Bursary

Bursaries to support the travel and other costs associated with a visit to another centre in the UK or abroad, for the purpose of learning new clinical or research techniques relevant to rheumatology, and to bring these techniques back to the initial UK centre.

Lewis Thomas Gibbon Jenkins of Briton Ferry scholarship

Monies from the trust fund can be provided for travelling bursaries. With an emphasis on training for research, linked with Wales, or for research into any aspect of physical disease prevalent in, but not necessarily exclusive to, Wales. The maximum award will be £30,000. Managed by the Wales office.

RCP-CRN (Clinical Research Network) research awards  

Since its inception in 2006, the NIHR has significantly increased the scale of clinical research in the NHS, particularly through the NIHR Clinical Research Network.   

Founded in 2015, this award scheme recognises outstanding contributions of NHS clinicians to the conduct of NIHR Clinical Research Network Portfolio research studies. Awards will be available for five consultants and five trainees.  

Applicants must be NHS clinicians (clinical academics are not eligible) and a member of the RCP. Information on how to apply can be found on the RCP funding and awards page when the award opens in June. 

RCP-Rosetrees Trust Joint Fellowship  

The RCP–Rosetrees Trust Joint Research Fellowships provide seedcorn funding for two junior doctors or new consultants per year to spend 12 months of protected time undertaking important, innovative research, developing research proposals and collecting pilot data with the aim of submitting and obtaining further funding for their projects.   

The fellowships provide funding of £50,000 for trainees wishing to take a year out of clinical practice to undertake research in a UK institution. £45,000 is available as salary, with a further £5,000 to fund travel and project costs. The work funded by the fellowships will ideally lead to an MD or PhD and subsequently a career in academic medicine.

Applicants must be four or more years post-core medical training and preference will be given to highly translational work that will see positive outcomes for patients within the next 10 years. Applications for this award are typically open from December to June.  

Thomas Watts Eden fellowship in paediatrics

The award, founded in 1963, enables doctors interested in neonatology and paediatric developments in infancy to acquire a new skill or experimental technique in a national or international laboratory, external to their base department. In order to allow the holder to return to their home unit and develop their research.

Applications are considered from medical graduates in obstetrics, paediatrics and medicine in the UK. The aim of the award will be to promote early research experience and training for academically able junior doctors, including integrated academic trainees.

Prolonged periods of study would be considered to contribute towards a period of research for up to a maximum of three years with a stipend awarded each year. The maximum award for each fellowship will be £30,000 and the award is open to qualified collegiate members or fellows of the RCP, Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) or Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RCOG) working in the UK.

Whitney-Wood Scholarships  

The Whitney-Wood Scholarships have been made possible through a generous bequest from Dorothy Whitney-Wood and aim to provide funding for research in the fields of health and medicine. Applications in all areas of health and medicine will be seriously considered. However, applications for research around the understanding and management of cancer are especially encouraged. 

Each Whitney-Wood Scholarship will provide funding of up to £50,000 for salary and direct project costs.   

Daniel Turnberg fellowships

The Daniel Turnberg Travel Fellowships give early-career biomedical and medical researchers the chance to meet leading researchers in their field, further their research experience and learn new techniques. This scheme aims to build research links and develop ongoing scientific collaborations between the UK and the Middle East.

Council-nominated lectureships/prizes

These are not awarded every year and are not open to the general public for applications. Nominations are sought from and decided by RCP Council members.

Ambuj Nath Bose prize: Founded by a bequest from Lt Col Ambuj Nath Bose OBE FRCP (1890–1948), received in 1954. A prize for research by a medical professional in a subject chosen by the Executive Council of the College.

Baly Medal: Founded by a gift from Dr Frederick Daniel Dyster MRCP (1809–93) received in 1866, confirmed by deed 1930 – in memory of Dr William Baly FRCP FRS (1814–61). A gold medal for the person deemed to have most distinguished himself in the science of physiology, especially during the previous two years.

Bisset Hawkins award: Founded by a gift from Capt Edward Wilmot Williams, at the suggestion of Dr Charles Theodore Williams FRCP (1838–1912), received in 1886 and confirmed by deed in 1930 – in memory of Dr Francis Bisset Hawkins FRCP (1796–1894). A gold medal for work done in the preceding 10 years in advancing sanitary science or in promoting public health.

Croonian Lecture: Established by a bequest from Lady Sadleir, wife of Sir Edwin Sadleir Bt and widow of Dr William Croone (1633–84), Fellow of the College. The lecture is given on any aspect of medicine or surgery, to be delivered by an RCP fellow.

Fitzpatrick Lecture: Founded by a gift from Mrs Agnes Letitia FitzPatrick, received in 1901, confirmed by deed 1930 – in memory of her husband Dr Thomas FitzPatrick MRCP (1832–1900) to endow a lectureship in ‘The History of Medicine’.

GMJ Slot Prize: Founded by a bequest from Dr Gerald Maurice Joseph Slot MRCP (1898–1972) to endow a biennial prize for the College Research Fellow who, in the opinion of the Research Committee, produces the best report on their work during the two years.

Moxon Medal: Founded in memory of Dr Walter Moxon FRCP (1836–86), a triennial gold medal is awarded to a person (not restricted to British subjects) who has produced distinguished observation and research in clinical medicine.